Roles

Parent Previous Next


Roles


Within Workbench Server's administration page, the roles page allows you to create, edit, or delete roles that will dictate what actions users can and cannot take as well as what securables they can view within Workbench Server.


Table of Contents

  Viewing Role Members

  Adding Users to Roles

  Removing Users from Roles

  Create a New Role

  Edit / Delete a Role



Viewing Role Members


When managing your roles, you can add and remove users from a role by first clicking the role you wish to manage. If you click on a role such as Administrators, you will be able to view a list of all users that are assigned to that role, their display name, date joined, and last login time. You will be able to edit the assignment of this role from this page as well.




Adding Users to Roles


You can add users to a specific role by clicking the "Add users to..." button. This extends the pane to allow you to search for users to add to the role. If you do not type anything into the search bar, you will be able to search a list of all users that have access to Workbench Server. To add the user(s), click the check box next to their name and then click the "Add users..." button next to the search bar.



Removing Users from Roles


You can remove users from a specific role by clicking the check box next to each user that you wish to remove and then clicking the "Remove users from..." button.



Create a New Role


To create a new role, simply click the "Create new role" button at the top of the Roles page. Doing so will add a new row within the Roles table that includes a text box in which to name the role. You may also select this to be the new default role from which new users will automatically be assigned to.



Once you have provided a name for the new role, click update to add the role to the list of roles.



Edit / Delete a Role


To edit a role, click the edit button next to the name of the role you wish to edit. This will bring up the naming box again for editing and will allow you to specify the role as the default role. Once done editing, click update button to update the changes. To delete a role click the delete button. Once you click the delete button, a warning will appear providing you with the impact of deleting the role will have on Workbench Server. To confirm deletion, click the delete button, otherwise, click the cancel button.